BW Outstanding Educators

The Outstanding Educator Award honors BW alumni who have made significant contributions to the lives of others as teachers, mentors and role models.

BW Celebrates Educators Who Change Lives

April 1, 2015

Baldwin Wallace University's 2015 Celebration of Outstanding Educators was highlighted by the presentation of Outstanding Educator Awards to three distinguished alumni: Deborah Campana '73, Mark Danni '88, and Elizabeth Hankins '03.

The Outstanding Educator Award honors BW alumni who have made significant contributions to the lives of others as teachers, mentors and role models - both in and out of the classroom.

Campana has enjoyed a 35-year career as a kindergarten teacher and administrator, with many years of service in Northeast Ohio schools and most recently in Fairfax County, Virginia. She is celebrated for her competent, compassionate approach to education and a special interest in supporting the needs of low-income students and their families.

Danni is the director of theatre at The Community School of Naples, Fla. where he has greatly increased student participation in the performing arts. He is also the founder of TheatreZone, an Equity company now in its tenth year of residency at The Community School, which gives students additional opportunities to interact with theatre professionals.

Hankins is the orchestra director at Lakewood High School in Lakewood, Ohio, leading several ensembles, which have garnered superior state ratings over many years. She is also the director of the Lakewood Project, an innovative rock orchestra that performs, composes, and arranges music outside the typical classical repertoire.

The James Thomas High School Teacher Award
BW's annual educator recognition also included The James Thomas High School Teacher Award honoring high school teachers who have engaged, inspired and encouraged BW students while preparing them for the college experience. The 2015 Thomas winners and the graduating seniors who nominated them are:

  • Patricia Baran of Twinsburg High School, nominated by Bryan Mays ‘15: "Mrs. Baran went beyond being a great teacher to also being a great citizen, and I always respected her for that."
  • Linda Imhoff of Strongsville High School, nominated by Heather Biernacki '15: "She was always helpful and supportive, striving to make mathematics something attainable to every student."
  • Ralph Jaworski of Elyria Catholic High School, nominated by Kristin Concheck '15: "I looked forward to going to his class every day because I knew I was going to learn so much and come out having a better day."
  • Nick Marasco of Neuqua Valley High School in Naperville, Illinois, nominated by Jennifer Lenart '15: "Our world needs more educators like him to promote environmental sustainability and to help students discover the beauty of nature."

Jill Herrick Graduate Education Scholarship
The April 19 ceremony also featured the presentation of the Jill Herrick Graduate Education Scholarship honoring outstanding students pursuing a Master's of Education to Heather Marzenski '09 and Elizabeth Little '10, as well as recognition for the members of Kappa Delta Pi, an international honor society, recognizing eligible undergraduate education students.