Five BW Professors Recognized for Excellence

April 1, 2013

Five faculty members were singled out for special recognition April 27 at Ovation 2013. Although each award has a different focus, the honorees share a dedication to learning and personal growth of their students.

Strosacker Award for Excellence in Teaching

Dr. Kelly Coble

Associate Professor & Chair of Philosophy

This award is the foremost recognition for outstanding teaching at BW. 

A Fulbright Scholar who spent the 2009-10 academic year teaching in Morocco, Coble has been lauded as a professor who has "selfless devotion to his students."

One former student wrote in a nomination, “The courses he teaches are deep and require investment...he always finds a way to add laughter to thought-provoking material. He is one of the most influential people I've met in my life."

Another person said Coble has the "critical and intellectual skills and aptitudes for making a positive difference in the world."

Kelly Coble


Bechberger Award for Human Development

Dr. Amy Jo Sutterluety

Professor & Program Chair of HPE

The Bechberger award recognizes a faculty member who contributes in outstanding ways to student development and growth through leadership outside of the classroom.

A scholar whose work has been praised by faculty and students, Sutterluety is a past recipient of BW's Strosacker Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Among the students who nominated her for the Bechberger Award, one described Sutterluety as "the epitome of a professor and advisor who is both a friend and role model."

Another student said she has been a "driving force" who helped her be "focused and confident."

Amy jo Sutterluety


The Gigax Faculty Scholarship Award

Dr. Barbara Palmer

Associate Professor of Political Science

Named for former Board of Trustees chair Lester Gigax, the award recognizes a faculty member who, through effective scholarship, has enhanced the learning environment at BW. Nominations come from faculty colleagues.

She is a book and journal author and keynote speaker whose expertise has been called upon for presentations both nationally and overseas.

One nominator wrote that her "scholarly accomplishments across all areas are impressive in depth and scope."

Another person said, "One of the most admirable characteristics of her scholarship is its collaborative nature. This is evident in her frequent collaboration with faculty and in her work with students." 

Barbara Palmer

The Exemplary Teacher Award

Dr. Thomas Sutton

Professor & Chair of Political Science

Co-sponsored by The General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of the United Methodist Church, the award recognizes a faculty member who exhibits excellence in teaching, civility and concern for students and colleagues, commitment to value-centered education and service to students, the institution and the community.

Sutton is the 2009 Student Senate Faculty Award winner and a Fulbright Scholar studying in Ghana for spring 2014.

A former student wrote, "His contributions in service have been notable and demonstrate his deep engagement in matters important to both the University and his department."

He also was described by a student as being "one of the best profs BW has to offer."


Thomas Sutton

The Student Senate Faculty Excellence Award

David Krueger

Professor of Business Administration & holder of the Charles E. Spahr Chair in Managerial and Corporate Ethics

BW's Student Senate annually presents this award to a faculty member. It recognizes outstanding classroom instruction, commitment to the academic and leadership development of students, and dedication to the campus community.

Instrumental in the formation of BW's sustainability major and other sustainability initiatives, Krueger has been a campus leader in this area. He has helped students gain valuable hands-on business experience through the Institute for Sustainable Business Practice and other programs. 

His scholarly work has appeared in numerous anthologies and journals. He has authored two books while at BW and has been a guest lecturer at universities in Zimbabwe, Thailand and Hong Kong. 


David Krueger

Back to Top