Baldwin Wallace Wrestling Team Finishes Ninth at 26th John Summa Memorial Tournament

Joe Georgian

Complete Brackets (.pdf) | Team Scores (.pdf)

BEREA, OHIO --  The Baldwin Wallace University wrestling team finishes ninth of nine teams today (Saturday, February 4, 2012) at the 26th Annual John Summa Memorial Tournament inside the Lou Higgins Center Fieldhouse.

The Yellow Jackets scored 20 points as a team and were led by junior 197-pounder Joe Georgian (Eastlake/Villa Angela St. Joseph) as he placed fifth defeating Dave Sickler of Rochester Institute of Technology, 5-3. Georgian recorded a record of 3-2 on the day and he improved his overall record to 6-4 on the season. Also placing for BW was freshman 149-pounder finished Sam McIntosh (South Euclid/Brush) as he finished in sixth place. McIntosh had to medically forfeit his finals match.

In addition to Georgian and McIntosh, senior 125-pounder Jeremy Dombrady (Copley) posted a 2-3 record on the day and was one win away from placing at least sixth.  Freshman 285-pounder Pete Meadows (Medina/Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy) recorded his first colligate pin before being knocked out of the tournament in his third match. His pin came in a time of 0:23 seconds over Christian Conoway of Thiel.

BW is back in action on Tuesday, February 7 when it will travel to New Concord to face the Fighting Muskies of Muskingum University in an Ohio Athletic Conference dual match at 7:30 p.m.   The next and final home match is on Thursday, February 16 when the team will welcome No. 16-nationally ranked and defending OAC Champion the University of Mount Union to the Ursprung Gymnasium for an OAC match at 7:30 p.m.

FOR MORE BW Sports Information, please contact Sports Information Director Kevin Ruple by telephone at 440-826-2327 and e-mail at kruple@bw.edu. or Assistant SID Jeff Miller by phone at 440-826-2780 and email at jefmille@bw.edu Fans can access the latest BW athletics information at www.bw.edu/athletics and we invite you to join us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/bwyellowjackets and Twitter at http://twitter.com/bwathletics.


Aggate Results
Baldwin Wallace University
  26th Annual John Summa Memorial Tournament
Saturday, February 4, 2012; Lou Higgins Center Fieldhouse in Berea, Ohio

Team Standings: (9 schools)

KEY: Baldwin Wallace University (BW); Brockport State (N.Y.) University (BRO);  Lake Erie College (LEC), Ohio Northern University (ONU);  Rochester (N.Y.) Institute of Technology (RIT); Thiel (Pa.) College (TC);  University of Indianapolis (INDY); Wabash (Ind.) College (WAB) and Washington & Jefferson (Pa.) College (WJ)

TEAM SCORES:  1.) Brockport State (N.Y.) 204;   2.) Ohio Northern 160.5;  3.) Lake Erie 138.5; 4.) Wabash 95; 5.) Rochester  Institute of Technology 86.5; 6.) Indianapolis 68; 7.) Washington & Jefferson  51; 8.) Thiel 42;  9.) Baldwin Wallace 20

Championship Round Results:

125 POUNDS: First Place: Asher Kramer (BRO2) won by decision over Tyler Marlow (BRO), 5-3

                         Third Place:
 Josh Boyer (WAB) won by decision over Cole Cochran (ONU), 6-4

133 POUNDS: First Place:
 Ryan Reed (BRO3) won by decision over Thomas McVicker (LEC), 7-3
                          Third Place: Zack Stouffer (TC) won by major decision over Matthias Ellis (BRO 4), 16-8

141 POUNDS: First Place: Eliah Golding (BRO) pinned Kevin Brunner (LEC), 1:43

                          Third Place: Trey Weliver (INDY) won by decision over Jerry Cramer (TC) , 7-0

149 POUNDS: First Place:
 Robert Troy (BRO)won by decision over  Mitchell Porter (LEC), 10-8
                         Third Place: David Lopez (INDY) won by dec. over Justin Dickey (WAB), 12-7

157 POUNDS: First Place: Nathan Ball (LEC) won by major decision over Austin Chamberlain (INDY), 12-1

                         Third Place: Michel Letcher (ONU) pinned Kristopher Shirley (BRO), 2:21

165 POUNDS: First Place:
 David Dibenedetto (WJ) won by decision over William Painter (ONU), 3-2
                         Third Place:
 David Zivcic (LEC) won by decision over Justin James (BRO), 5-3

174 POUNDS: First Place: Kyle Kwiat (ONU) won by technical fall over Dustin Parrish (INDY), 16-1; 6:00

                         Third Place:
 Nick Fuschino (RIT) won by major decision over Clayton Neivert (BRO), 14-3

184 POUNDS: First Place:
 Josh Linden (LEC) won by decision over Wheeler Brunschmid (BRO), 11-8
                         Third Place: Daniel Sandburg (WAB) won by decision Tyler Brent (RIT), 7-2

197 POUNDS: First Place:
 Michel Pawlitz (ONU) pinned Ian Kelton (WAB2), 0:20
                         Third Place: Paul Glover (BRO) won by major decision over Ryan Sandwith (WAB), 11-3

285 POUNDS: First Place: John Wilkinson (BRO) Nick Stewart (RIT)

                         Third Place:
 Cody Lovejoy (ONU) pinned Taylor Potts (WJ), 2:17


The John Summa Most Valuable Wrestler:
 Kyle Kwiat (Ohio Northern)
Fastest Pin:
 Tim McVicker (Lake Erie) 19 seconds
Most Pins (In least amount of time):
  Michael Lechter (Ohio Northern), 5 (19:28)


Share |