2010 NCAA Outdoor T&F Championships


North Central Men, Illinois Wesleyan Women Win National Titles

Illinois Wesleyan women

By Norm Weber
Special to NCAA.com

Link to Special Photo Gallery of Team Champions

BEREA, OHIO – Seven men and two women repeated as national champions while three women were double national champions today in the NCAA Division III Track and Field National Championships on the campus of Baldwin Wallace University at The George Finnie Stadium in Berea, Ohio.
Repeating as outdoor national champions from 2009 were Salisbury University’s Cory Beebe in the 400-meter hurdles, Springfield’s Stephen Headley in the 100 dash, Moravian’s Eric Woodruff in the 200-meter dash, Greenville’s Edgar Townsend in the 110-meter hurdles, Centre’s Chrys Jones in the triple jump (including a Div. III season best 15.18 meters), Salisbury’s Brandon Fugett in the shot, and Concordia’s (Wisc.) Brock Solveson in the javelin.
On the women’s side, Wisconsin Oshkosh’s Ellie Sitek repeated as the discus champion. Wartburg College (Iowa) repeated as national champs in both the 4x100 and 4x400-meter relays.
Calvin College’s Rachel Boerner won both the 400 dash (D-III season best 54.50) and 400 hurdles (D-III season best 59.80) while Bethel’s Marie Borner won both 800 (NCAA championship record 2:06.87) and 1,500 meter runs (D-III season best 4:23.85).
Winning the team championships were North Central College for the men and Illinois Wesleyan for the women.

North Central Men
North Central completed the cross country and track & field trifecta, winning men's cross country, indoor and outdoor track & field all in 2010.
Following IWU were UW-Oshkosh, MIT, Wartburg, Calvin, Williams, UW La Crosse, The College of New Jersey, University of Chicago and Methodist.
Following NCC in the top ten were Salisbury, UW-LaCrosse, MIT, Wheaton (Mass.), Springfield, UW-Oshkosh, McMurry, UW-Stout, while Monmouth, Gustavus Adolphus and, Amherst all tied for 10th.
Bethel's Marie Borner was named Outstanding Women's Track Athlete, UW-Oshkosh's Ellie Sitek was Oustanding Women's Field Athlete, Springfield's Stephen Headley Outstanding Men's Track Athlete and MIT's Stephen Morton Outstanding Men's Field Athlete.
Other national champions for the women were TCNJ’s Miriam Khan in the 100 meters (D-III season best 11.67),  University of Chicago’s Liz Lawton in the 10,000 (D-III season best 34:41.59), Messiah’s Kristin Bates in the 100 hurdles (season best 13.83),  MIT’s Jacqui Wentz in the steeplechase (D-III SB 10:16.16), Texas Lutheran’s Briana Aiken in the long jump, Williams’ Tanasia Hoffer in the triple jump, St. Lawrence’s Alyssa Pirinelli in the shot, UW-Oshkosh’s Holly Ozanich in the hammer, Carroll’s Amanda Trieloff in the javelin, Manchester’s Kailey Honn in the high jump, Moravian’s Anna Heim in the pole vault, and Bridgewater’s Courtney Hartman in the heptathlon.

Special Award Winners
L-R (Marie Borner, Ellie Sitek, Stephen Headley,
Stephen Morton)
Other men’s champions were Thiel’s Alex Eaton in the 400, Gustavus Adolphus’s Max Hanson in the 800, Fredonia SUNY’s Nick Guarino in the 1,500, Williams’ Connor Kamm in the 5,000, North Central’s Kyle Brady in the 10,000, Wisconsin-Eau Claire in the steeplechase, Wheaton (Mass.) in the 4x100-meter relay and 4x400-meter relay, MIT’s Stephen Morton in the long jump, UW-Stout’s Sean Larson in the disc, Cal Lutheran’s Eric Flores in the hammer, Monmouth’s Tyler Hannam in the high jump, North Central’s Jake Winder in the pole vault and Case Western Reserve’s Obinna Nwanna in the decathlon.
Share |