Cross Country


2009 Men's 8K Preview

< Back to Championship Site

Complete List of Team and Individual Competitors

Peter Kosgei won Hamilton's first
national title in 2008.

BEREA, OHIO Ė Baldwin Wallace University will play host to the 2009 NCAA Division III Cross Country Championships on Saturday, November 21 at Highland Park Golf Course in Highland Hills. The menís eight-kilometer event will begin at 12:00 p.m. (EST).

The race will feature seven of the top 10 teams from last yearís championship and the reigning individual champion in Hamilton College (N.Y.) senior Peter Kosgei.

SUNY-Cortland (N.Y.), ranked fourth in the nation by the USTFCCCA, is back to defend its crown after edging out third-ranked SUNY-Geneseo (N.Y.) for its second consecutive Atlantic Regional championship last Saturday. The Red Dragons are paced by five all-region seniors, including returning All-Americans Justin Wager and Seth DuBois.

Top-ranked North Central College (Ill.) will look to claim its 13th national title after finishing runner-up at last yearís championship. The Cardinals dominated the Midwest Regional last Saturday, running to a meet record-low of 21 points, and will attempt to take home the programís first championship since 1999. Senior Midwest Region champ Michael Spain leads the Cardinals and will look to build on his 12th-place finish at nationals in 2008.

No. 2 University of Wisconsin La Crosse finished second to North Central at regionals and was sixth at last seasonís national race.  Senior Connor Lonning led the Eagles last Saturday and classmate Paul Moran was 48th at nationals in 2008.

Geneseo was eighth at last yearís championship and is led by junior Tim Chichester and sophomore Lee Berube, who placed 45th and 77th in the nation last season, respectively.

Sixth-ranked Allegheny College (Pa.) won the Mideast Region behind junior Chris Marker and returns six runners from last yearís squad that placed 10th.

North Central's men's squad looks to bring
home its 13th NCAA Championship

No. 10 Williams College (N.E.) won the New England Regional and will look to build on a third-place finish at nationals in 2008. Three of the Ephmenís top runners from last season are back including senior Edgar Kosgey, who placed 10th in 2008.

No. 15 Calvin College (Mich.) won its 14th straight Great Lakes Region title and is led by sophomore regional champ Nick Kramer. The Knights lost all five all scorers from last yearís squad which placed fifth.

Unranked St. Thomas University (N.Y.) won the tightly contested Central Region with a tiebreaker over at-large qualifier Nebraska Wesleyan.

No. 13 Emory University (Ga.) won the South/Southeast Region and No. 21 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (Calif.) was champion of the West Region.

In addition to last year's winner SUNY-Cortland, previous winners of the meet include New York University (2007), Calvin (2006) and Wisconsin La-Crosse (2005).

Share |