Theatre and Dance


Henry IV Part One
Luke Brett (Hal) and Sarah Bell (Hotspur)

Student Success

Six BW students have been nominated to participate in the 2014 Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival Region 3 Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship auditions:

  • Shaun O' Neill (Dorn - The Seagull
  • Roderick O'Toole (Kostantin - The Seagull)
  • Kelly Smith (Dottie - Noises Off)
  • Hannah-Jo Weisberg (Brooke - Noises Off)
  • Luke Brett (Hal – Henry IV Part One)
  • Sarah Bell (Hotspur – Henry IV Part One)

2013 Fall Scholarship Awards

The Donna E. Fry ’58 Scholarship – Donna Fry, a 1958 graduate of BW, served as a media specialist with the Jackson Local Schools in Massillon, Ohio. 
  • Xavier Kahn '16
  • Chelsea Lewis '14
  • Amanda Trompak '15
The William A. & Mary Lou Allman Drama Scholarship – Professor Allman taught at BW beginning in 1955, founded Berea Summer Theatre in 1957, and served as a professor of drama from 1958 to 1998.
  • Gabriella Radak '16
  • Amanda Koberling '15
The Joseph B. & Berneice K. Smith Scholarship – In 1983, as a demonstration of her commitment to quality in the arts, Mrs. Berneice K. Smith established and endowed scholarship to assist future generations of deserving students pursuing degrees in theatre arts.
  • Luke Brett '14
  • Cleo DeOrio '16
  • Caitlyn Engler '15
  • Maggie Williams '16
  • Marina Lauff '16
The Linda C. Moss Scholarship – Linda C. Moss recognizes the many benefits to individuals and society from experience with the performing arts. This scholarship fund is established to foster excellence and to assist future generations of deserving BW students as they pursue higher education in theatre arts.
  • Nicholas Lynch-Voris '16
The Donald Spencer & Gertrude Meckel Connelly Drama Scholarship - For many years Gertrude Connelly was involved in the Berea Summer Theatre Program, including stage appearances. This scholarship especially honors the contribution of William A. Allman to the drama program at Baldwin Wallace University
  • Dayne Sundman  '15
BW Theatre Scholarship
  • Nicholas Baldasare '16
BW Talent Scholarship
  • Jeanette Hagerty '16
  • Samantha Harris '15
  • Austen Gonser '16

Ovation 2013 Honors Awards

The Susanne Claflin Stew Dance Scholarship – Professor, director and coach Sue Strew retired in 2010 after a “wonderful journey” and career of 53 years at BW. Sue and husband Rudolph established this fund to recognize talented dance students, encourage them to complete their dance minor with the Department of Theatre and Dance.
  • Kathryn MacMannis '14
Albert Morrill Scholarship – Albert R. Morrill, class of 1971, demonstrated creative talent in music and theatre during his years at Baldwin Wallace and in his work thereafter. 
  • Joshua Smalley '16
Dana & Marie Burns Scholarship – Preference is expressed for a student with an exceptionally high record academically.
  • Dayne Sundman '15
Douglas Hall Scholarship – Douglas Hall served as associated professor of theatre and technical director at Baldwin Wallace from 1978 until his untimely death in 1986. Theatre was his life and he held high standards for excellence in set design and construction. Preference is expressed for a theatre major (especially in technical theatre) who has promise in theatre.
  • Christopher Meyers '15
William A. & Mary Lou Allman Drama Scholarship – The William A. and Mary Lou Allman Drama Scholarship recognizes a Baldwin Wallace theatre major who has demonstrated promise in the theatre profession.
  • Kelly Smith '14


Share |