Dr. John T. Cacioppo

Dr. Stephanie Cacioppo

History of the Department of Psychology

Find out more about the rich history and the Study of Psychology at BW.



Alumni Feedback

Did you graduate with a major in psychology from Baldwin Wallace University? We'd appreciate your feedback. Please complete our alumni survey.

Departmental News

Harrington Distinguished Visiting Professor, 2014-2015

Dr. John T. Cacioppo and Dr. Stephanie Cacioppo
April 15, 2015 at 7:30 p.m., John Patrick Theater (Kleist Center for Art & Drama)

Dr. John Cacioppo and Dr. Stephanie Cacioppo will present their program, "The Brain, Social Neuroscience, and Loneliness" on Wednesday, April 15 at 7:30 p.m. in the John Patrick Theater. Their visit to BW is sponsored by the Harrington Visiting Professor Fund.

Dr. John T. Cacioppo is the Tiffany and Margaret Blake Distinguished Service Professor and the Director of the Center for Cognitive and Social Neuroscience at the University of Chicago. His research in the field of social neuroscience uses an interdisciplinary approach to examine the evolution of social structures and behaviors and the neural, hormonal, cellular, and genetic mechanisms that support them.

Dr. Stephanie Cacioppo is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience at the Pritzker School of Medicine at the University of Chicago and serves as Director of the High-Performance Electrical Neuroimaging Laboratory at the Center for Cognitive and Social Neuroscience.

For more information, please contact the Psychology Department Office at 440-826-2197.

Harrington Psychology Colloquium Series
This year marks the 20th anniversary of the Harrington Visiting Professor series, which is generously supported by an endowment to the Department of Psychology in honor of Kathryn Grover Harrington ('23) and Robert A. Harrington. As part of the Harrington Visiting Professor Series, the Psychology Department offers regular colloquia or lectures with experts in various fields of Psychology. Past colloquia have included school violence, multicultural psychology, forensic psychology, clinical hypnosis, eating disorders, autism disorders, and domestic abuse. The colloquia are free and open to the public.

Recipients of the Harrington Distinguished Visiting Professor award include:
Dr. John Cacioppo and Dr. Stephanie Cacioppo, 2014-15
Dr. Melba Vasquez, 2013-2014 Dr. Barry Schwartz, 2012-2013
Dr. Laurence Steinberg, 2011-2012
Dr. Carol Tavris, 2010-2011
Dr. Robert Sapolsky, 2009-2010
Dr. David Matsumoto, 2008-2009
Dr. Larry Squire, 2007-2008
Dr. James Garbarino, 2006-2007
Dr. David H. Barlow, 2005-2006
Dr. Daniel Schacter, 2004-2005
Dr. David M. Buss, 2003-2004
Dr. Sandra Scarr, 2002-2003
Dr. Elliot Aronson, 2001-2002
Dr. Philip Zimbardo, 2000-2001
Dr. James, McGaugh, 1999-2000
Dr. Elizabeth Loftus, 1998-1999
Dr. Albert Bandura, 1997-1998
Dr. Robert Sternberg, 1996-1997
Dr. Anthony Marsella, 1995-1996

Share |