2012 Buckhorn Chair Professor Dennis Miller and speaker, Allison Ross, M.D.

TopicEmerging Complications of HIV/AIDS & Anitretroviral Therapy: A Product of our own success

Departmental News

BW's Buckhorn Endowed Chair in Economics Speaker for 2014

Speakers: Susan Baker, Professor of Environmental Social Science, Cardiff University, UK

Topic: Sustainable Development and the Common Good

Download the flyer here: Susan_Baker_flyer.pdf

If you missed the 2014 lecture, open this link using Real Player:

If you missed the 2013 lecture, open this link using Real Player:

The Department of Economics hosted the 2015 Pavsek Luncheon celebrating student scholarship

On April 21st, the 35th Annual Pavsek Award for Excellence in Economics recognized the outstanding winner: Thomas Kasper, a graduating economics major. Thomas  presented his paper to guests, faculty and fellow students following the celebration luncheon.

Download Thomas' paper (2015): The Impact of Fiscal Conservatism on Economic Growth

Download  Daniela's paper (2014): Social Network Analysis of International Trade Disputes Among the Members of the World Trade Organization (WTO)

Download Bradley's paper (2014): Is Modeling Exchange Rates Using the Black-Scholes Framework Appropriate?


Faculty Spotlight on Publication

Chen, Xudong and Huang, Bihong. Club Membership and Transboundary Pollution: Evidence from the European Union Enlargement. Energy Economics. (forthcoming)

Chen, Xudong and Noiset, Luc. 2012. Environmental Assistance, Club Membership and Transboundary Pollution. Southwestern Journal of Economics.

Mohammed Akacem, William Kaempfer, and Dennis Miller. (2016). Rethinking the Resource Curse--Reshaping the Role of Oil and Its Impact on Economic Development in the MENA Region Post-Arab Spring. Springer International Publishers. (forthcoming) 

Mohammed Akacem, Dennis Miller, and John Faulkner. 2015. The Benefit Principle as Applied to Middle East Oil: Implications to U.S. Energy Policy. Air and Space Power Journal--Africa and Francophonie.


Student Spotlight

The 2015 Recipient of the Economics Awards received their award during Ovation Honors' Day on Thursday, April 30th.

  • The Pavsek Award for Excellence in Economics ($2000) - Thomas Kasper
  • The Dr. Albert Gray, Jr. Prize in Economics ($500) - Brianna Rippin
  • The Dr. Greg Pett Award ($2500) - Jennifer Lenart
  • The Jess and Arline Petty Scholarship ($2500) - Vanessa Adu-Gyamfi

Alpha-Beta of Ohio Chapter of Omicron Delta Epsilon (ODE), the International Honor Society In Economics, welcomed its new members during the Rites of Initiation on Wednesday, April 1, 2015.

2015 Omicron Delta Epsilon Inductees:

  • Kristin A. Antos
  • Devan MacDonald
  • Lawrence Wolfe
  • William Vaccariello
  • Tyler Lee

Pi Gamma Mu (PGM), the International Social Science Honorary Society, welcomed its new members during the Rites of Initiation on Wednesday, April 1, 2015.

2015 Pi Gamma Mu Inductees:
  •  No new inductees.                             

News from Alums

Headed to grad school this fall?  Have an internship? 

We'd love to here from you! Please email Professor Strong at Tell us your good news and we will pass it on to the BW community.

Share |