Communication Sciences & Disorders


(left to right) Rachel Gottfried, 2015 Edith White Scholarship winner, and Christy Needham, Speech Clinic Supervisor

 Since 1999-2000 academic year

  •  80.6% of the Communication Disorders graduates have applied to graduate school
  • 95% of those students who applied to graduate school have been accepted

  84% in Speech-Language Pathology

  4% in Audiology

  12% in other fields such as Physician 
  Assistant, Special Education, School
  Counseling, Art Therapy,
  in Higher Education or Deaf Education

 Graduate schools attended include:

  •  Appalachian State
  •  Bowling Green State University
  •  Case Western Reserve University
  •  Clarion University
  •  Cleveland State University
  •  Edinboro University
  •  Florida Atlantic University
  •  George Washington University
  •  John Carroll University
  •  Kent State University
  •  Longwood University
  •  Miami University (Ohio)
  •  Molloy College
  •  Northeast Ohio Au.D. Consortium
  •  Notre Dame College 
  •  Ohio State University
  •  Ohio University
  •  Old Dominion University
  •  Syracuse University
  •  University of Akron
  •  University of Cincinnati
  •  University of Colorado – Boulder
  •  University of Massachusetts
  •  University of Nova Southeastern
  •  University of Pittsburgh
  •  University of Texas – Austin
  •  University of Virginia
  •  Ursuline College
  •  Western Carolina University

Those seeking employment have found jobs bin organizations such as Beltone Audiology and Hearing Care Center, Dancing Wheels Company, Monarch Center for Autism and STEPS Center for Excellence in Autism.

Student Success

Student Collaboration

Rachel Antrim '13 is the first BW student to have work featured through a partnership between The Inspired Treehouse and BW's Speech and Language department.  Click here to read the story.

Scholarship Awards

Edith A. White Speech Scholarship - Edith A. White received her undergraduate education at Baldwin Wallace, then went on to Columbia University for her M.A. in Speech. During her 42-year teaching career, she served in Medina County Schools and provided 36 years of continuous service to Rocky River High School. She coached 68 plays and also coached Rotary Club Speech Contests for 20 years. Edith was president of The Cleveland Drama Teacher's Association among other memberships. During her BW years, she started a lifelong membership in what is now Alpha Xi Delta Sorority and belonged to the Hiker's Club. This scholarship fund affirms her lifelong commitment to excellence in speech by providing ongoing assistance to worthy BW students.

  • Rachel Gottfried 2015
  • Rachel Antrim 2014
  • Brittany Kaplan 2013
  • Lauren Shivak 2012
  • Julianne Mier 2011
  • Emily Lowe 2010
  • Erin Boeshart 2009
  • Amy Lagzdins 2008

Thomas "Jake" Beyer for Outstanding Student from the Communication Department - Thomas "Jake" Beyer received his undergraduate degree in theatre and business from BW in 1983.  He served as a logistics specialist for the U.S. Department of Defense for 25 years and passed away after a lifelong struggle with cystic fibrosis in 2010.  This award, established by his family and friends, recognizes an outstanding speech communication student. 

Alayna Chlad 2014
Angela Musille 2013
Marika "JoBeth" Roll 2012

Donna E. Fry '58 Scholarship - Donna Fry, a 1958 graduate of BW, served as a media specialist with Jackson Local Schools in Massillion, Ohio. A speech major at BW, Donna had great admiration for professors Bill Allman, Charles Irwin and Dr. James Ross and wished to honor them by establishing a fund for speech and theatre education. Donna was an active member of the North Industry Christian Church and a member of Theta Phi and Kappa Phi Methodist service club. She passed away in February 2012.

Amber Dumperth 2014
Bridget Gornichec 2013

Every year one Communication Sciences & Disorders student from BW is chosen to receive the Outstanding Undergraduate Award from the Ohio Speech-Language and Hearing Association at its annual convention. Amber Dumperth is the 2015 winner. In addition, several of our students have also received the Outstanding Graduate awards.

CSD Outstanding Students for 2015
Senior: Amber Dumperth
Junior: Kelsey Blatt
Sophomore: Molly Martin
Freshman: Olivia Schneider
CSD Highest GPA 2014-2015: Jordan Gase
OSLHA Leadership Development Program: Vanessa Jacob

Share |